2013 The Year in Review

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?
Lots of things, most relating to my job, I’ve learned a lot “on the fly” about medical billing, finances, payroll & multiple computer programs, all of which is useful knowledge.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Well I had said I would blog again more, that didn’t happen, the healthier thing, well I certainly feel better than I did last year, but I haven’t lost any weight so in the eyes of most, I’m not any healthier
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No one specifically close to me did but through work I see a few tiny babies occasionally now, which is always fun.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
yes, a friend of 20+ years died in August, I’m ok with it but his loss has popped out at me in a lot of weird ways since then.
5. What countries did you visit?
No other countries, I did leave Virginia, but only to go to North Carolina & pick my mother up at the airport in Charlotte, then to take her back there a week later after her visit in August, (the friend who died, did so while my mother was here which made for a very weird week in general)
6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013?
Money again.
7. What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
August 3 when Eric died, and the next day at Lois & Av’s for a cook out, with friends & family who knew Eric, plus my mother being there, that day was especially surreal. Also the holidays were memorable this year with Lois, Av & Cam of course.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
I don’t think I really had one, maybe managing all the new challenges at the new job without losing my mind?
9. What was your biggest failure?
I do wish the job was going better, a small family practice Dr’s office is a hard business to run in this day & age.
10. What was the best thing you bought?
I like  my new smart phone better than my old one, it was free with my bonus points from U. S. Cellular though, so I didn’t exactly buy it.
11. Whose behavior merited celebration?
I’m very proud that Cameron (now 14) did the school marching and concert band all through the fall very well.
12. Whose behavior made you appalled and disgusted?
Congress and especially the congressman for my own district Morgan Griffith of VA I truly hope 2014 is the year we get rid of the do-nothing obstructionists.
13. What song will always remind you of 2013
pfffttt….. “What does the Fox Say” lol.
14. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Read, received money
15. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Take verbal abuse, wait.
16. Did you fall in love in 2013?
Nope.
17. What was your favorite TV program?
Sons of Anarchy
18. What was the best book you read?
A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (also loved the second book in the series & am awaiting the third & final book this year)
19. What one thing would have made your year measurably more satisfying?
financial solvency
20. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012
I tried to balance the teal, blue, green trend I’ve been on for a few years with a bit more purple.
21. What kept you sane?
Melatonin, at the least, no matter what chaos was going on, at home, at work, in the world around me, at least I could guarantee myself a good nights sleep every night.
22. Who did you miss?
Eric who died in August, and sort of because of his death, my father more, they were both Capricorns & when I missed my father I would often talk to Eric because he was analytical & thought about interesting, abstract concepts like my father did. Now I don’t really have anyone like that to talk to in my life (Lois’ boyfriend Av’s dad is similar, but I’m a little intimidated by him still)
23. Who was the best new person you met?
I like Cameron’s newest & closest friend’s mom pretty well. We share a Sons of Anarchy obsession so that’s something.
24. Tell us a valuable lesson you learned in 2013
Keep your friends close because you never know when you’ll see them again.
25. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫ I got nothin’

Leave a Reply

