Fade Into Darkness

At least I hope to do so early tonight! It’s been a week already & I still have to get through tomorrow before my weekend arrives Thursday & Friday.  On the good news front, I have managed to get almost an hour of overtime in this week without taking phone calls, not sure what I’m going to do next week though & I do have to do at least 2 or 2 & 1/2 hours a week.

Everything has changed so much, new things you have to say on the phone, new phone system, without a normal mute button, there’s a pause, I’m told, from when you hit mute until you’re actually on mute, victim of rapid, unwarned sneezes that I am, I will not like that very much at all. Got to do some OT though, it’s pretty sad, in light of the raises I’ve had in the last 18 months that I can’t make it on what I make in 80 hours (every other week paychecks for me – which I hate!)

I’m reading Merry Men by Carolyn Chute for the third time, I’ve yet to finish it, it’s sad, heavy reading, the first time I tried I had borrowed it from the library right around the time I started cosmetology school & I couldn’t get through it with the 8 hour day at school, being mom to ms 19, pregnant with ms 12 & a wife to the ex, I took it back & went back to re-reading things I knew well, because it takes less attention to re-read a well loved book, you already know how it’s going to come out.

The next time I remember thinking, I’ll get through it this time, I’m older, I’ll understand it better, and I did, but still time got away from me & it was a library loan yet again, so back it went before I was through and not without a few misgivings, but some releif too, because she writes unsparingly, she’s not telling pretty stories about damsels in distress or lucky fortune tellers & although I know these people, grew up with many of them & live among others of a slightly different breed now, they’re not always easy to think of.

So I picked it up for free through the paperback swap & after the Archer’s Tale, since I didn’t have & couldn’t afford the other two books in that series, I got this one down from the shelf, in general I don’t have too many books left on the shelves which I haven’t read yet, however paperback swap helps in that way, I posted a bunch of books last week & 3 have already been sent out to bring me more credits for more books.

I ordered a book at the same time I posted, but it hasn’t come yet, I just realized that now, odd since they’re usually quick in coming, people send out fast because they want the credits! I don’t blame them really it’s a great setup & there are so many books out there!

2 thoughts on “Fade Into Darkness

Leave a Reply

