Christmas Countdown December 23

Mixed blessings at best today- The universe always conspires to remind me there are more important things than making sure the kids all get the same amount spent on them under the tree by pointing me in the direction of what’s truly important at this time of winter solstice (well- yeah- it was Sunday- I know- I’m always very late on this sort of thing) what matters more than anything else is…… Water.
Yes. Water. Monday it was 8 degrees when I left for work & it never got over 25 in my area all day long. The truly upsetting thing is that when I left for work we had water- it was dripping into the bucket I keep under my tub faucet- because it drips a lot & I tried the kitchen sink too- it was working slowly but working.
When I went to break at work I found I had a text message from ms 18 announcing that the pipes seemed to be frozen & we had no water. We do keep gallons of water for this type of thing (more for when the power is out & the pump doesn’t pump) so it wasn’t such a big deal really. Not yesterday.
I of course told her to open the kitchen cabinets- wanted her to bring the heater from upstairs down to the kitchen- which she wouldn’t do- she turned on the oven instead & nothing defrosted.
This morning it was chilly- 16 degrees on my way to work- but it got up to 39 or so- unfortunately the water is at the back of the house in the kitchen & bathroom which are facing north- the bathroom gets some sun in the afternoon- from April to October or so- but this time of year- both rooms see no sun & don’t get very warm without help.
Ms 18 ran the oven a little but there’s still no water at all. We picked up fresh water at the store & I did dishes with water warmed on the stove in pans but I’m pretty tired of it & beginning to worry about broken pipes between the pump in the ground & the basement (there’s nothing broken in the basement- mr 9 has checked it & tonight while I was out at the shed getting the kid’s presents out in preparation for wrapping them tonight & tomorrow I checked too through the window with the basement light on)
Tomorrow the weather is supposed to warm up a lot- up to the high 40’s-low 50’s so hopefully it’s just frozen pipes & hopefully they’ll thaw tomorrow!

kittehattacksvillageThis kitty thought the little village we put up was just for him & slept in it until he’d knocked all the houses off of it! What a maroon! (I’ve been wanting to use that Bugs Bunny line for days now- not sure why)

Instead of being a time of unusual behavior, Christmas is perhaps the only time in the year when people can obey their natural impulses and express their true sentiments without feeling self-conscious and, perhaps, foolish.  Christmas, in short, is about the only chance a man has to be himself.  ~Francis C. Farley

2 thoughts on “Christmas Countdown December 23

Leave a Reply

