Wednesday Weirdness

I should preface this by saying my keyboard broke the w stopped working so we’ve dug out the keyboard without a comma button because using a dash- as a comma is easier than going without a w! I will have a new keyboard before going back to work on Saturday though- I will!

I’m still feeling fractious about the ex’s visit – though it did prompt me to take down all the cob webs around the ceilings in the house- I didn’t get around to doing so out on the porch yet but I will. For the first 3 or 4 years we were in the trailer without the ex I was psycho about cleaning- vacuuming- dusting- washing dishes constantly. My theory at the time was ‘yes it’s a dump- leaky- falling apart etc but we have to make the best of it & a clean dump is better than a dirty dump’

By the last year though – things were so bad that I didn’t do much- other than the obvious dishes- trash- etc. And when we moved into the trailer- well I am not much of a housekeeper – I admit- Plus 18 was so enthused about the new house that she kept it clean for me- at least cleaner than I might. The last 6 months or so she has been all about clutter but not much for actual cleaning she makes 11 do the dishes on my work nights & has either 11 or 8 sweep & the other one vacuum on the occasions I ask but it’s a far cry from her previous cleanliness levels.

So now I’ve got to get back into the groove of cleaning- I’m not pleased about it either. I do enough with the work & the driving there & back again- the homework helping- the cooking- the grocery shopping- I pay someone to mow the lawn now of course & I’m starting to think that I might need to just hire someone to do the real cleaning- like the floors – the windows – the glass & all that.

Because I know the ex & that’s what he’ll pick on me about- the house not being clean & my weight- he’s never fussed about the weight because his soon to be second ex wife is as fat as I am. However the new one is thin (right now at least) he’s entirely likely to try to say I’m not a good mother on the basis of those two criteria.

Yes- I am obsessing over the ex. Whyever do you ask?

Today was good- work for 3 & 1/2 hours because I couldn’t get 4. I wasn’t able to sign up for next week either so now I’ll worry until Saturday that I won’t get the hours of overtime I want & have to go in on next Wednesday or Thursday evening instead. The daytime hours are at a premium there for overtime.

Once I was out of work I went to get 18 at school where she had been waiting for awhile for me. She had a little discussion with an assistant principal because of her leaving school early- cutting her last period study hall- he said it is ok if she leaves- not a problem at all because she’s 18 & because it’s only a study hall. However- apparently she’s been leaving without signing out & that part is not ok.

She started in immediately telling me about the drivers ed class she needs to sign up for before school ends ($100. if she’s still in school $200. if she signs up after graduation) And telling me how she is nowhere near the 40 hours of behind the wheel time she needs to have before she goes to the class. So she drove home. When we got here we had almost exactly an hour to kill before it was time to go get 11 & 8 from remediation & so we went out for a drive for another hour to bulk up her experience.

She did very well. No ditches- no curbs- no close calls. When we went to pick 11 & 8 up she navigated the parking lot very well although I didn’t appreciate the leaning out of the car window & yelling across the parking lot to a friend arriving to pick up her mother who works at the school part of the experience.

Later this evening 11- who spend the day on a field trip to our largest natural landmark in the countyBuffalo mountain – dug out some lemonheads which she’d taken on her hike. 18 got very into them & wanted to go to the store for some more- I agreed as it is a lovely night out there & so everyone but 18’s BF piled in the car to go to the store 3 miles away- with 18 driving.

She told me on the way that she’s very comfortable about driving on our particular road & only the goat crossing area worries her because the goats are so unpredictable & seem to think that the road is theirs & they have the right of way. They weren’t out tonight though so no problem- we did see 3 deer in a field on our road & another 2 crossed on the next road on our way to the store 11 & 8 are finally old enough to look where I point & see the deer which is nice.

When we arrived at the store I instructed 18 to choose her parking space wisely because she doesn’t like to back up & it is a tight parking lot- often when you go to back out of a parking space the people at the gas pumps have pulled up awfully close to your car & it’s hard to back out easily- especially if you’re nervous like she is- she yeah yeah’d me as she pulled up into a space which backed right up on the gas pumps & in front of which two guys were lounging on the peat & potting soil sacks.

She parked crooked & I made her back up & pull in again to straighten out a little with much fussing on her part & advice from 11 & 8 in the back seat- after shelling out a dollar each for the little ones (18 had her own money- from the BF) I settled in to play the new game I have on my phone- I haven’t decided if I like it or not- it’s like tetris but with colored lego blocks- ok but a little silly.

I wasn’t trying to listen to the guys conversation in front of me- I was actually trying not to look at them & was a little embarrassed because they were directly in front of the windshield. All of a sudden the older one- with a large bristly beard got up & said to the younger one ‘I’m gonna git on home before that girl comes out & drives into me!’ The younger one laughed & so did I- 18 – when she’s in a good mood- which she was (well- she was before I told her about this exchange – at least) does come across as flighty & crazy- after the ditch incident I wouldn’t doubt at all that she might put the car in drive instead of reverse & plow right into the bags of dirt!

Back home 11-18  & the BF were watching tv & I found a couple of good jokes online here so I told them to 18 & the BF- the first was:
(poetic license- I changed the original state to VA because that’s where I live!)
A young woman was pulled over for speeding. A Virginia State Trooper walked to her car window and flipped open his ticket book. She said, “I bet you are going to sell me a ticket to the State Troopers Ball”. He replied, “Virginia State Troopers don’t have balls”. There was a moment of silence while she just smiled. He realized what he’d just said, closed his book, got back in his patrol car and left.

Since they were amused by that one I read them another one!

This guy and his wife went to the state fair and one of the first exhibits we stopped at was the breeding bulls. They went up to the first pen and there was a sign attached that said,
‘THIS BULL MATED 50 TIMES LAST YEAR’
The wife playfully nudged hubby in the ribs, smiled and said, “He mated 50 times last year”. They walked to the second pen which had a sign attached that said,
‘THIS BULL MATED 150 TIMES LAST YEAR’
She gave hubby a healthy jab and said, “WOW – That’s more than twice a week! You could learn a lot from him”. They walked to the third pen and it had a sign attached that said, in BIG capital letters,
‘THIS BULL MATED 365 TIMES LAST YEAR’
The wife was so excited that her elbow nearly broke the guys ribs as she said, “That’s once a day! You could REALLY learn something from this one”. He looked at her and said, “Go over and ask him if it was with the same old cow”.
The hospital is now saying that the husbands’ condition has been upgraded from critical to stable, and he should eventually make a full recovery.

All well & good- ‘ha ha very funny Mom’ I turned to go back to the computer & 18’s BF says to 18 ‘that’s so true about the cows’ I didn’t turn around in time to see her haul off & slug him but the body blow could be heard from the next room where I was!

I need to write a to-do list though I rarely get through even half what I set out to do it’s good to have a reference point. Truly I’ll be happy if I get all the mirrors- computer screens & tvs cleaned & the floors swept – mopped & swiffered before I go back to work on Saturday.

One thought on “Wednesday Weirdness

Leave a Reply

