Were You A Snot-faced Spoiled Brat When You Were Growing Up?”

I love a good pity party- or a good meme!
I found it here

Bold any that apply:

Father went to college

Father finished college
Mother went to college  (she did a couple of years at Emerson studying to be an actress)
Mother finished college
Have any relative who is an attorney, physician, or professor  (a couple of accountants, would that count?)
Were the same or higher economic class than your high school teachers  (since I was taught at home, of course I was the same economic class as my teachers!)
Had more than 50 books in your childhood home  (many many more)
Had more than 500 books in your childhood home  (between my parents, grandparents & my brother & I, I could conservatively estimate twice that many books)
Were read children’s books by a parent  (both parents, alternately & I also listened in when my father read to my younger brother in later years)
Had lessons of any kind before you turned 18  (yep, my mother felt we should have lots of extra curricular activities because otherwise she & my father would have too much influence over us due to the homeschooling)
Had more than two kinds of lessons before you turned 18  (Piano for 6 years, Ballet for 2- I was an utter failure at the Ballet, I also was involved in Campfire Girls & took art lessons with my brother for a few years)
The people in the media who dress and talk like me are portrayed positively  (I haven’t seen too many fat, single mothers of 3, doing call center work portrayed at all in the media – & of course we all know how the media feels about fat people!)
Had a credit card with your name on it before you turned 18 (my father didn’t believe in Credit cards at all he didn’t have any before I was 18 or ever for that matter!)
Your parents (or a trust) paid for the majority of your college costs (college? What’s that?)
Your parents (or a trust) paid for all of your college costs  (you mean where you cut up magazines & put the pieces on poster board?
Went to a private high school (uber private- my brother & myself= the entire student body)
Went to summer camp
Had a private tutor before you turned 18  (well, homeschooling could be portrayed as a private tutor who never leaves & is at you all the time!)
Family vacations involved staying at hotels (this vacation you speak of? I didn’t know the meaning of the word until I was a full adult- we went to Vermont for 3 days once & Maine for 3 days once & that, I believe would be all)
Your clothing was all bought new before you turned 18 (I have always been fat- I got hand me downs from adults & other people with older kids & heard, when I was upset enough & foolish enough to complain: ” when you lose weight maybe we’ll buy you some nice clothes” )
Your parents bought you a car that was not a hand-me-down from them (they gave me the old car – under protest- to bribe me to come home from VA when I went there at 18)
There was original art in your house when you were a child (sure, my brother’s & mine)
Had a phone in your room before you turned 18 (well, when I was 16 or so they sprung for a phone upstairs, & it had a 20 foot cord on it so I could stretch it & bring it into my room to talk to friends, would that count? I doubt it)
You and your family lived in a single family house (yes, my grandparent’s home, ancestral home of my grandfather on my mother’s side, they lived there too & had a living room & bedroom separate from ours)
Your parent(s) owned their own house or apartment before you left home  (the grandparents did-not my parents)
You had your own room as a child  (yes, the house was large enough that everyone had their own room- my father even had a den of his own)
Participated in an SAT/ACT prep course (yeah. Right)
Had your own TV in your room in High School (my parents gave my brother & I 17 inch black & white tvs for our rooms in 1980- when I moved in with my ex husband in 1992 it was our only tv for the first 3 months or so)
Owned a mutual fund or IRA in High School or College
Flew anywhere on a commercial airline before you turned 16 (I was 23 for my first airplane trip & I brought my 2 year old daughter with me- so I guess she might be the spoiled one!)
Went on a cruise with your family (yeah, in the car, to the ice cream stand on hot summer nights when my mother declared it was too hot to cook- ergo we had ice cream sundaes for dinner!)
Went on more than one cruise with your family  (Oh we did that cruise to the ice cream place about every other weekend in the summers of my youth)
Your parents took you to museums and art galleries as you grew up  (yes, we were big museum goers- we went to the science, children’s, art & many historical places- growing up in MA you can’t escape it & once again, as homeschoolers  my mother had certain things she felt were essential for us to do & experience.)
You were unaware of how much heating bills were for your family  (we had the furnace die the 22 of December the year I was 9, believe you me, I knew exactly what it took to heat the house, which thermostat controlled which zone & how long we would have to bail the cellar in the spring to keep the water from putting out the furnace’s pilot light)

2 thoughts on “Were You A Snot-faced Spoiled Brat When You Were Growing Up?”

  1. Father went to college
    Father finished college
    Mother went to college
    Mother finished college
    Have any relative who is an attorney, physician, or professor
    Were the same or higher economic class than your high school teachers
    Had more than 50 books in your childhood home
    Had more than 500 books in your childhood home
    Were read children’s books by a parent
    Had lessons of any kind before you turned 18
    Had more than two kinds of lessons before you turned 18
    The people in the media who dress and talk like me are portrayed positively
    Had a credit card with your name on it before you turned 18
    Your parents (or a trust) paid for the majority of your college costs
    Your parents (or a trust) paid for all of your college costs
    Went to a private high school
    Went to summer camp
    Had a private tutor before you turned 18
    Family vacations involved staying at hotels
    Your clothing was all bought new before you turned 18
    Your parents bought you a car that was not a hand-me-down from them
    There was original art in your house when you were a child
    Had a phone in your room before you turned 18
    You and your family lived in a single family house
    Your parent(s) owned their own house or apartment before you left home
    You had your own room as a child
    Participated in an SAT/ACT prep course
    Had your own TV in your room in High School
    Owned a mutual fund or IRA in High School or College
    Flew anywhere on a commercial airline before you turned 16
    Went on a cruise with your family
    Went on more than one cruise with your family
    Your parents took you to museums and art galleries as you grew up
    You were unaware of how much heating bills were for your family

  2. You know, we had so many situations like this… money dropping into place at the last minute… during our rough years. I look back, and we always got by, always made it. At the time, it didn’t always feel like it. Thanks for posting this, and reminding me that … somehow, I’m always taken care of. 🙂
    Michele says hello tonight!
    ~S

Leave a Reply

