Christmas Meme (new one)

             becky-lois-1990026.jpg

1. Christmas is

                                                    Both Fun and Annoying by turns.

2. In memories, what was the best part of your Christmases past?

I always remember after the stockings & before the tree, when I was young- but not too young, 12 & up I guess, I’d have made up bread dough before going to bed & so would just have to bake it for breakfast & we’d make eggnog (yes, homemade, with real eggs- it was the 80’s we never got sick !)

3. Was Santa ever good to you?

I asked for a motorcycle & a Camaro in 1985 at 17 & got toy representations of both, Santa had a sense of humor similar to my Fathers of course.

4. Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, or both?

Both, Christmas Eve at Auntie’s & Christmas day at home (my job permitting, of course, some years it’s all Christmas Eve because I have to work on the day)

5. Is there something you make each and every year? [craft or recipe]

Lots of them. We’ve been doing felt Christmas mice for 3 years now & I’m trying to get a collection of all 6 mice to everyone in my family. When we moved down here to VA we were very poor (since my ex barely ever worked) & so we were on food stamps the first 4 years we lived in VA. All cash went to getting the kids Christmas gifts, giving to family & friends was next to impossible. So, since we had plenty of food I started making Christmas cookie bags for everyone & beaded earrings for the women (since I could do that for free- having tons of beads already) The tradition stuck & the kids love to make the cookies so we do Christmas cookies for everyone, boxes & boxes of them each year.

6. What are your favorite five Christmas songs/hymns?

1. I believe in Father Christmas by Greg Lake,

2. 2000 Miles by the Pretenders,

3. War Is Over by John Lennon,

4. Carol Of The Bells Various Artists,

5. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen Various Artists

7. Is there a new tradition for Christmas since your childhood days?

Most of our  traditions are our own, things are very different from the way they were when I was a kid.

If I didn’t know it would lead to stalking I’d love to attend a candlelight service  on Christmas eve as we always did when I was little, there’s no Chinese food close enough to have on Christmas eve &  no Dad to read Twas the Night Before Christmas either. 

On Christmas day things are similar, in that we do stockings first thing in the morning, have a nice breakfast & start the dinner, then open gifts & eat dinner in that order. 

8. Describe one of your Christmas trips. [whether it’s across town or across country]

In 1992 my Mother had been living in Houston TX for nearly a year but was ready to come back to MA, she had her car & a bunch of her stuff down there & didn’t feel like she could drive herself back alone, so she flew my ex, 17, who was 2 & I down to TX to drive back with her.  We arrived on 12/19 & on the second leg of the trip, we changed planes somewhere in the middle of the country, I want to say Ohio, when the second plane took off 17 didn’t like it at all, she tried to take off her seatbelt & get up from her seat! Announced the plane needed to turn around & that she was not going to do this! The ex & I, giggling in our seats did our best to reassure her that it would be fine but 17 was not to be convinced & when the stewardess came back to offer us sodas 17 fixed her with a steely glare & said- ‘put the plane back down on the ground- I mean now The stewardess was unamused. When we arrived in Houston we found that the crazy Boston drivers have nothing on Houston drivers & my mother scared us to death just on the way home from the airport. She then took us on a whirlwind tour of Houston for the first day of our itinerary, she had paid movers to come in, pack up her stuff & so forth so the next day we left for MA. It took us 4 days to drive back stopping in motels all the way up & on the way we took a shortcut to  here- my ex’s first view of the place where his mother & siblings still live.

9. Do you have a special Christmas outfit to wear for the day?

Not really, different every year, This year maybe a green dress or a black & green shirt with a black skirt.

10. Have YOU or any of your family members sat on Santa’s lap?

Wouldn’t want to be responsible for a broken leg on Santa’s part so not me, & as for the kids not for quite a few years.

11. What is/or will be on your Christmas tree this year?

The usual, lots of colorful lights, glass balls, novelty decorations, mostly the ones my mother gives each year to memorialize my Brother & Father, meaning we have a lot of fishing &  Star Wars related ornaments.

12. Do you/or have you decorated your yard for Christmas?

Porch yes, Yard no.

xmas05084.jpg

3 thoughts on “Christmas Meme (new one)

Leave a Reply

