Saturdays Going…going…gone!

Sometimes it seems like my best days start with pancakes, I’m not sure why but it just seems to happen that way.

lois91050.jpgWe all slept late this morning because we had rented a dvd (buy 10 get 1 free over time is the best offer! We seem to always come up on our 11th rental just when we could really use it) but then unexpectedly a friend of 17’s who has moved to annother town stopped by to visit 17 & since she wanted to watch the movie we waited until K had to leave meaning we got a late start on the movie. (Over the Hedge I thought it was pretty cute but a little distressing) Everyone but me was in bed before 11:30 & I watched the local & national news on dvr & then went to my bed some 40 minutes later. (love that time saved in fast forwarding through the commercials!)

When we did get up 17 asked if I’d make pancakes so I did on the condition that I’d mix & make the first few if she would come down & cook the rest of them. Miss 10 & Mr 7 were busily engaged in making birthday cards for their little cousins. We’re going to a birthday party for one who is turning 1 today, next week is on who’s turning 15 & one who’ll be 2. the 2 year old’s birthday party is on Sunday so we won’t be able to attend that one, so we’ve got her gift & the cards 7 & 10 made for her ready to go today.

cam2001139.jpgAfter washing the dishes from the pancakes & last night, (yes, I’m one of those terrible people who can stand to leave dishes in my sink overnight)  getting the chicken cooked for dinner (the party is at 4pm so I need it ready to heat & serve before we leave so all I have to do is throw it in the oven, ‘it’ is chicken divan)  & generally cleaning up the house with the kids. It’s beautiful outside so when we were through Mr 7 departed to play outside after promising if I’d come out & help he would pick up the yard with his sister. I wasn’t dressed yet & as he went outside & I went to my room to get clothes on his parting shot was: ‘And no getting on the computer either, you get too excessed over it’ (I’m not sure if he meant obssessed or excited or that I use it to excess!) So I got dressed, got a few bags & we went around the yard & picked up trash & debris which has accumulated in our yard over the winter, with all the excessive wind this year there seemed to be a lot of it. We also cleaned across the road in the ditch on the other side since theres a steep incline up to a farmers fields over there & so no one cleans it up, mr 7 even found a glass soda bottle, circa 1979 or so in the leaves & other debris on that side of the road. Everything looked much better outside after that & ‘warm’ or not, my fingers were cold so I came back in leaving 7 & 10 to line up matchbox cars on my path & run races to see which one travels the furthest down the path in 1 push.

Next up was making a peach upside down cake with miss 10, that was the deal we made this morning, because it’s too hard & too crowded with both of them trying to help me make pancakes & cake so Mr 7 helped with the pancake mixing (I make mine from scratch) & miss 10 helped with the cake with the dishes done from that all I have left to do is actually assemble the chicken divan so it is truly ready to go when I get home from visiting & then I’ve promised to watch miss 10’s favorite -really-too-old-for-her-but-it’s-too-late-now tv show Medium.

valnov98120.jpg I’m not a big fan of censorship so I’m ok with her watching it, it’s really pretty tame in comparison with her #1 favorite show which is Cold Case. I still get teary eyed remembering the first trip ever to a video store with my father, he signed us up for an account & the clerk offered to enter into the computer the limits for my brother (then 9, I was 13) & myself. My father looked at the guy quizzically, limits? the guy was eager to explain, he could say we could only rent G or PG movies (this was probably a year or so before PG13 became the new R.) My father shook his head & said ‘thats ridiculous, they can rent whatever they want I want them to be able to see everything’ the clerk was certainly shocked. My brother & I on either side of my father looked at each other across his chest & gave each other thumbs up! We were thrilled. I think the worst thing I ever saw which my brother rented was the movie “Basket Case” we had already been through the whole horror section, all the Friday the 13th, Halloween, Amityville horror stuff & He was looking for more gore, bigger thrills. I didn’t make it through the whole movie it was terrible. The plot, not the gore!

So here’s the recipies for our dinner & desert, I realize I’m not particularly consistent with recipie posting. I like to do so but I don’t always have recipies for what I cook & I don’t cook ‘real meals’ like chicken divan as much as I should!

becky70092.jpg The peach cake recipie used to be a different recipie & is the first I’ve really changed completely on my own (I adapt all the recipies I use a little) The original recipie just wasn’t a dense or interesting enough cake & the peaches on top just didn’t seem right. So I’ve been playing with it for about 7 years now. It all started on the last trip we took to MA with the ex. We went to visit one of his uncles & the uncle had bought a carton full of 4 huge cans of peaches (the 1 gallon size cans) He didn’t realize when he purchased them that he was the only one in his family who liked peaches! So he offered them to us since we all liked peaches. I was only able to get my older 2 (mr 7 wasn’t even a year old at this time) to eat peaches in bowls or over ice cream for a few weeks. So I had to find other things to do with all those peaches & this recipie was one of the things everyone was happy to see me make every time! (It took us over 4 years to use up those peaches! When I’d open a can I’d have to move half of it into tupperware bowls & freeze it immediately)

Chicken Divan
Boil 1 lb. Chicken (I use thighs but that’s personal preference, the person who I got the recipie from used breast meat) until cooked through. Thaw 10 ounces of broccoli & put in a deep casserole dish, (I actually use a very large oven proof bowl & double most of this recipie now that my kids are getting bigger & have larger appetites, we used to use a normal round pyrex bowl) place chicken over the broccol. Mix 1/2 cup mayonaise with 2 cups shredded cheese (I use mozzarella but it’s good with most cheeses, cheddar specifically) 1 can cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup, 1 tblsp. of lemon juice, 1/2 teasp. salt & 1/2 teasp. pepper. Stir well & pour over the chicken & broccoli, top with a box of stovetop stuffing mix unprepared, bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Peach upside down cake

2  large cans of peaches in juice or light syrup, 1/2 Brown Sugar, 2 teasp. cinnamon

Drain peaches & reserve 1 & 1/3 cup of the syrup or juice from the cam. Mix peaches, cinnamon & sugar together & pour into a sealed angelfood cake pan or 2-3 bread pans to cover bottoms of pans. set aside

2 cups of softened butter, 1 cup white sugar & 1& 1/2 cups brown sugar. cream together until blended, add 1 Tbspn. Cinnamon & 1 teasp. Nutmeg, 2 teasp Vanilla. mix well & then add 4 eggs, 1 at a time beating well after each. Alternately add 3 cups of flour which has been sifted with 1teasp baking soda, 1 teasp. baking powder & 1/2 teasp salt. with 1 & 1/3 cups of reserved juice from peaches, blending between additions until all is absorbed. pour over peaches in the pans & bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes. let cool 1/2 hour before de-panning.

Picture notes: #1 Miss 17 at about 20 months, #2 mr 7 at the same age, #3 Miss 10 at 20 months, #4 Me at the same age.

3 thoughts on “Saturdays Going…going…gone!

  1. Wow, that’s a lot! Hope dinner comes out well and good on ya enjoyin’ the fresh air! Spring will come… *sigh

    Here via Michele’s 🙂

Leave a Reply

